Sunday, February 15, 2009

Miami Heat's Success in the All-Star Weekend Continues

On Saturday night in the middle of the Arizona desert, Daequan Cook continued a stint of success for the Miami Heat in the All-Star game events by winning the three-point competition. He dethroned former Miami Heat player, Jason Kapono, who was on his way for a three-peat. Nobody gave Daequan a shot - Hell, I doubted him too because of his shooting style (using a lot of leg energy to take a jump shot). In the end, the man who Wade calls "Dae-Dae" and who's mom calls "Pooh," took the three-point crown.

Kenny "The Jet" Smith highly doubted Cook, saying that it would be a "disappointment" if he won the competition. Hey Kenny, don't be too depressed now. You should have never doubted the passion of a Miami Heat player. Sure, Rashard Lewis gave him a freebie by missing 75% of his shots in the last round, but "Dae-Dae" proved that he deserved it by making 19 points in the end (one more point than his first round showing).

This victory should be no surprise to NBA fans by now, as the Miami Heat have 7 Pre-All-Star Competition wins over the course of their 21-year existence. That's tied with the Chicago Bulls for most by any team. The Heat, Bulls and Suns are the only teams to have a winner in all three competitions.

Most recently, we remember Wade dominating the Skills Competition and becoming the only two-time champion when he won the challenge in 2006 and 2007. He buried a field that consisted of Lebron James, Chris Paul and Steve Nash in 2006 and Lebron James,Chris Paul and Kobe Bryant in 2007. He was dethroned by Deron Williams in his attempt for a 3-peat in 2008.

Also in 2007, Jason Kapono shot lights out tying Mark Price's record of 24 shots made in the final round.He went on to repeat in 2008 as a member of the Toronto Raptors.

In their second year of existence, the Miami Heat used the #4 pick in the 1989 draft to select Glen Rice. Rice won the 1995 NBA Three-point shootout by beating NBA 3 point record holder Reggie Miller by 1, 17-16.

Harold Miner completed a Miami Heat sweep of the the All-Star Festivities that year by winning the Slam Dunk competition for the second time. His first win came in 1993 when he beat defending champion Cedric Ceballos in the final round. Minor did not participate in the 1994 competition.

No comments:

Image Disclaimer

The photos used on this site are not the property of Miami Sports Generation, unless otherwise defined by our logo. The rightful owners of these photos deserve all the credit for their work.